IPL changed Indian cricket, PSL will do the same for Pakistan: Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Shahid Afridi, the former Pakistan all-rounder, reckons that the Indian Premier League (IPL) has helped Indian cricket grow leaps and bounds over the years. The 39-year-old also feels that in the future, the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will also play the same role for Pakistan cricket. The PSL is currently into its fifth edition with Islamabad United being the most successful team with two titles.

The Khyber Agency-born veteran is currently plying his trade for the Multan Sultans, captained by Shan Masood. As per Afridi, the young Indian players rubbing shoulders with the foreign cricketers have made them ready for cricket at the highest level. Moreover, he sounded happy by the amount of talent that has come to the fore in the ongoing version of the PSL.

Afridi praises the IPL

“I think the IPL turned around Indian cricket. Their new players after having played in the IPL with top foreign players and having shared the dressing room with them are ready when they come into international cricket. They are ready to cope with the pressures at this level,” Afridi was quoted as saying in India Today.

“I think the IPL changed their cricket and I think even our Pakistan Super League will do the same. Already we are seeing some good young players coming through the league. When you play with or against top international players before big crowds you learn to handle the pressure,” he added.

In PSL 2020, Afridi has scored 32 runs thus far with a top score of an unbeaten 21 against the Lahore Qalandars at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. With the ball, he has picked up a solitary wicket. His next assignment is against the Peshawar Zalmi, led by Daren Sammy, on Wednesday, February 26 at the Multan Cricket Stadium.

As far as the IPL is concerned, the T20 league is scheduled to get underway on March 29. The opening match is scheduled to be played between the Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians at the iconic Wankhede Stadium. The itinerary for the league stage has been released with the final to take place on May 24.