More than 400 overseas players register for PSL 2021 Player Draft
Chris Lynn. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to host the 2021 edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) from February 20 to March 22 in Karachi and Lahore. The league is expected to generate a lot of revenue and limelight this year as over 400 foreign players from over 10 cricket playing countries have expressed their availability and interest in the marquee event. The Player Draft for the 2021 edition will take place at the High-Performance Centre on Sunday afternoon.

One of the notable names among hundreds of submissions is of West Indies power-hitter Chris Gayle. Fondly known as Universe Boss, Gayle is hailed as the ambassador of T20 cricket all across the globe. The 41-year-old had last played for Karachi Kings in the 2017 edition before representing Lahore Qalandars in 2016.

If the West Indies Stalwart manages to grab the attention of PSL franchises, then this will be the first time since 2006 that he will play competitive cricket in Pakistan as both 2016 and 2017 editions were hosted at the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Dale Steyn confirms his availability for PSL 2021

Apart from Chris, England’s Number 1 ranked batsman in T20 batsmen’s rankings by International Cricket Council, Dawid Malan (ICC) along with compatriots Moeen Ali, Tom Banton and Chris Jordan can also feature in the tournament, however, they won’t be available for the whole league owing to their international commitments.

Other notable mentions are Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mohammad Nabi along with South Africa’s duo of David Miller and Morne Morkel. South African quick Dale Steyn, who had recently opted out of the IPL 2021, is also willing to play in PSL.

PSL 2021 Foreign Player Draft – Some of the biggest names

Afghanistan – Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rehman and Rashid Khan

Australia – Chris Green, Fawad Ahmed, Dan Christian, James Faulkner and Chris Lynn

Bangladesh – Anamul Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mahmudullah, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed

England – Jake Ball, Moeen Ali, Tom Banton, Ravi Bopara, Joe Denly , Ben Duckett, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Samit Patel, Liam Plunkett and Phil Salt

Ireland – Andy Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Kevin O’Brien, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson

Netherlands – Roelof van der Merwe

Nepal – Sandeep Lamichhane

New Zealand – Anton Devcich and Mitch McCleneghan

South Africa – Kyle Abbott, Cameron Delport, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Tabraiz Shamsi and Dale Steyn

Sri Lanka – Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya De Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Dimuth Karunarathna, Suranga Lakmal, Dhananjaya Lakshan, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Pradeep, Lakshan Sandakan, Upul Tharanga and Lahiru Thirimanne

West Indies – Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shane Dowrich, Dominic Drakes, Andre Fletcher, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sherfane Rutherford, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith and Chadwick Walton

Zimbabwe – Tendai Chisoro, Kyle Jarvis, Blessing Muzarabani, Sikandar Raza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams.