Most Sixes in PSL | Most Sixes by a Batsman in PSL History
Fakhar Zaman. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Since the introduction of T20 cricket, there is one aspect of cricket that has seen a significant rise. The number of sixes that have now been hit in our game is at a record high. In an average T20 match, there are at least 10 sixes hit across the two innings. Pakistan Super League is one of the leagues which has seen this tremendous growth in the number of sixes being hit. 

As the sixth edition of the PSL is about to begin on February 20, 2021, we are bound to see more and more sixes which will take our breath away. Let us look at the players who have hit the most number of sixes in the league’s history. 

The list begins with veteran Australian all-rounder Shane Watson. He played for Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators during the five seasons. He has hit 81 sixes from 46 matches. He has been one of the most successful batters in the league. Going by the stats, he is the highest run-getter in the league among all the overseas batsmen who have played. Sadly, he won’t be able to add to his tally as he has retired from the game a few months back.

The second on the list is Kamran Akmal, who has hit 77 sixes in 56 PSL matches. He has played only for Peshawar Zalmi in the league. The wicket-keeper, who is the leading run-getter in the league, will have an opportunity to break the record set by Watson. At 39, Akmal is still going strong and showed his class with the bat in the previous season as well. 

After Kamran, there is Luke Ronchi and Asif Ali, who have hit 50 sixes each. The only difference between the record of the two players is that the former New Zealand player hit those 50 sixes in just 31 matches, while Ali managed them in 43 matches. After that, there are two West Indian tied with 44 sixes each and they are Kieron Pollard and Daren Sammy. 

Most sixes by a player in PSL:

Player Matches Inns Runs SR 4s 6s
Shane Watson 46 46 1361 138.59 123 81
Kamran Akmal 56 55 1537 138.34 158 77
Luke Ronchi 31 31 1020 166.12 116 50
Asif Ali 43 36 655 163.34 39 50
Kieron Pollard 33 30 650 166.24 48 44
Daren Sammy 49 39 691 146.39 48 44
Umar Akmal 32 30 833 137.91 66 42
Fakhar Zaman 40 40 1064 137.29 111 42
Shoaib Malik 48 44 1127 122.63 74 41
Colin Ingram 32 31 793 152.79 67 40