Russell, Vince and Smith added to HBL PSL 2019 star power

Russell, Vince and Smith added to HBL PSL 2019 star power

  • Hardus Viljoen and David Wiese scooped by Qalandars; Andre Fletcher bagged by Zalmi
  • “Russell is a confirmed match-winner and we’re assured that he’ll convey the identical match-winning intuition to our dressing room this season,” says Multan Sultans captain Shoaib Malik
  • Smith brings a wealth of expertise with him and will likely be extraordinarily helpful for us within the top-order within the UAE-leg of HBL PSL 2019,” says Quetta Gladiators’ coach Moin Khan
  • For extra data on HBL PSL 2019, please go to; official twitter deal with is @thepslt20; hashtag is #HBLPSL

Lahore, 24 January: The star-studded participant roster of HBL PSL 2019 acquired an extra increase with the addition of the Windies T20 star trio of Andre Russell, Dwayne Smith and Andre Fletcher, in-form England top-order batsman James Vince, and South Africa’s duo of Hardus Viljeon and David Sensible on the Substitute Participant Draft in Lahore on Thursday.

Russell, the champion all-rounder, was picked by Multan Sultans as a alternative for an injured Australia batsman Steve Smith. Russell had performed for Islamabad United in 2018 and will likely be accessible for the primary seven matches within the UAE earlier than returning to the Caribbean.    

“HBL PSL is a high quality match and I look ahead to reuniting with a number of the prime worldwide cricketers in 2019,” mentioned Russell.           

“Multan Sultans have picked a really balanced squad this 12 months and I’m glad that I’ll have an opportunity to share the dressing room with Pakistani stalwarts Shoaib Malik and Shahid Afridi,” he added.          

The Sultans additionally scooped England batsman James Vince to substitute his fellow countryman Joe Denly, who will likely be on nationwide obligation within the West Indies. Vince has amassed four,166 runs in 161 T20 matches at a median of 29.75. He’ll look to replicate the shape that noticed him rating two back-to-back half-centuries for Sydney Sixers within the Massive Bash League in Australia.           

“We had to take care of the double blow of dropping out on Steve Smith and Joe Denly, however we’re delighted that now we have been in a position to usher in Andre Russell and James Vince,” mentioned Multan Sultans captain Shoaib Malik.             

“Russell is among the greatest T20 cricketers on this planet and we’re assured that he’ll convey his match-winning intuition to our dressing room this season.

“Vince is a participant now we have saved our eyes on for some time now. Now we have picked him based mostly on his constant performances and we’re very  excited to see what he can do for Multan Sultans.

Quetta Gladiators have snapped up veteran West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Smith as cowl for Dwayne Bravo from 14 to 27 February. Smith has performed for Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi within the earlier seasons.          

“Smith brings a wealth of expertise with him and will likely be extraordinarily helpful for us within the top-order for the UAE-leg of HBL PSL 2019,” mentioned Quetta Gladiators coach Moin Khan.

Lahore Qalandars have opted for South Africa’s duo of Hardus Viljoen and David Wiese as cowl for Corey Anderson and Carlos Brathwaite. Anderson will arrive late due to his home commitments, whereas Brathwaite is predicted to be part of the squad for the T20 sequence in opposition to England. As well as to the 2, AB de Villiers can also be accessible till 10 March.

West Indies batsman Andre Fletcher has returned to Peshawar Zalmi as a alternative for Waqar Salamkheil, who has withdrawn due to his Afghanistan commitments. 

Peshawar Zalmi and Multan Sultans are eligible to title partial replacements for Chris Jordan and Nicholas Pooran, respectively. The 2 gamers are anticipated to be concerned within the T20 sequence between England and West Indies in March.                    

Earlier, in a bid to encourage native expertise, 4 of the six groups additionally named their native gamers to their squads. These are:

  • Lahore Qalandars – Saad Ali (middle-order batsman)
  • Multan Sultans – Hammad Azam (all-rounder)
  • Quetta Gladiators – Mohammad Irfan Jr (quick bowler)
  • Karachi Kings – Umer Khan (left-arm spinner)

Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United didn’t make their picks however might add one native participant every at a later stage.